DVP impresses on home soil

11 Aug 2017

DVP impresses on home soil

Related riders

Share this article

Danny van Poppel finished ninth after a strong performance on a thrilling stage five at the BinckBank Tour.

Van Poppel impressed, not missing a single move across a tough 165 kilometres - dubbed a mini Amstel Gold race - but nobody could do anything about the final attack of the day from winner Lars Boom (LottoNL-Jumbo).

Boom chose the perfect moment to distance the final elite group, attacking just ahead of the flamme rouge on the technical run to the line inside the Tom Dumoulin Bike Park in Sittard-Geleen.

Nobody was willing to chase the new race leader leaving a scrap for second place, won by Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe). Van Poppel rolled in ninth on home soil to move up to 16th overall, now 48 seconds back on Boom.

The first half of the stage unfolded in somewhat calmer fashion than the second, with the action heating up once the peloton split, 45km from the finish.

Most of the major contenders made the front group, but a puncture for race leader Stefan Kung saw him distanced. BMC rallied around their man though, leading the second group back, and there was a regrouping inside the final 20km.

Elia Viviani made it across for Team Sky to join Van Poppel but yet more attacks fired up front, with Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal) launching a stinging effort on the day’s final climb of note. 

Van Poppel dug in to follow as an elite selection of 16 riders went away and DVP found himself in exalted company, alongside the likes of Sagan, Greg van Avermaet (BMC), and Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors).

Frustrated by a lack of cooperation in the group Sagan chose to hit out alone 10km from home and it was Van Poppel who picked up the baton to chase him down, demonstrating his strength.

But, unfortunately for the Dutchman, he was denied the chance to sprint for the stage win with Boom’s attack snuffing out any chance of a bunch finish.
Stage five result:

1. Lars Boom (LottoNL-Jumbo) 3:43:46
2. Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) +3"
3. Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing) s.t.
4. Oliver Naesen (AG2R La Mondiale)
5. Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo)
9. Danny van Poppel (Team Sky)

Overall standings:

1. Lars Boom (LottoNL-Jumbo) 15:23:17
2. Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) +2"
3. Tom Dumoulin (Sunweb) +8"
4. Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal) +19"
5. Jasha Sutterlin (Movistar) +27"
16. Danny van Poppel (Team Sky) +48"

Share this article