Van Baarle fifth overall at the BinckBank Tour

19 Aug 2018

Van Baarle fifth overall at the BinckBank Tour

Related riders

Share this article

Dylan van Baarle wrapped up fifth overall at the BinckBank Tour after a strong effort on the final day in Belgium.

The Dutchman has impressed with his consistency all week and was there at the pointy end of the race again on the final day, following late moves and battling for the stage win.

In the end, after 215 kilometres and three ascents of the iconic Muur van Geraardsbergen, Van Baarle had to settle for ninth place on the final and toughest stage of the race, behind winner Michael Matthews (Sunweb). Matej Mohoric (Bahrain-Merida) hung on for the overall win.

Speaking to after the stage, a happy Van Baarle talked through a tough day.

He said: “It was a long, hard day. It was flat out from the start but I felt really good all day - well, actually, from Friday onwards. I was just waiting to show myself in the last two stages.

“And the guys did a really good job today - there was only three of us! But they did everything they could and put me in the best position possible heading into the final laps.”
With Chris Lawless, Owain Doull and Diego Rosa already out of the race, Lukasz Wisniowski was unable to take to the start this morning due to illness.

Despite that, Leonardo Basso and Kristoffer Halvorsen rallied round Van Baarle, and DS Matteo Tosatto praised the trio for their work.

He said: “Today’s stage was the hardest of the week. We only had three guys start this morning but Leonardo and Kristoffer got through a lot of work in the first part of the race. It was very hard, very fast, and a battle in the crosswinds.

“Dylan was very strong and he’s put in good performances over the past two days. It’s a good result for the team and for Dylan. He will race the Vuelta so it shows the form is there.

“He stayed up there every day, was well positioned, avoided the crashes, and he led the team well. It was a good week.”

BinckBank Tour GC

1. Matej Mohoric (Bahrain-Merida) 25:13:01
2. Michael Matthews (Sunweb) +0:05
3. Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal) +0:20
4. Maximilian Schachmann (Quick-Step Floors) +0:25
5. Dylan van Baarle (Team Sky) +0:34
Over in Germany at the EuroEyes Cyclassics Hamburg, Michal Golas led Team Sky home as Elia Viviani (Quick-Step Floors) retained the title he won in Team Sky colours last season.

Ian Stannard featured late on as he pushed the pace before the final ascent of the tough Waseberg climb, 15km from the finish. That sparked a number of attacks but none stuck, leaving the sprinters to battle out for the win.

Share this article