Tour de France – Stage 12: Toulouse – Bagneres-de-Bigorre, 209.5km

Geraint Thomas and Egan Bernal retained second and third positions overall as the team ticked off a relatively straightforward day in the Pyrenees.
With a large 40-man breakaway pushing clear to contest the stage win, the general classification battle took a back seat on Thursday, with a number of eyes on the upcoming time trial.
There were no significant attacks on a pair of first-category climbs, with the team arriving at the front on the latter, Hourquette d’Ancizan. Luke Rowe and Dylan van Baarle set a sensible tempo, with the entire team on the front to lead the peloton into Bagneres-de-Bigorre.
The bunch arrived nine and a half minutes behind stage winner Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott), with the Brit winning a three-up sprint to claim victory on the day.
Attention quickly turns to Friday’s 27.2km time trial in Pau, with the general classification contenders set to go head to head. 
Geraint Thomas

Geraint Thomas

I think everyone is mindful of the next three days - they are going to be big for the GC.


- Geraint Thomas

"We were expecting something to happen on the final climb - and with the gap being quite small to the break. We were bracing ourselves for something but it never materialised.

"I think maybe everyone is mindful of what’s coming up over the next three days - three big days for the GC, so maybe everyone is waiting for that. 

"Luke and Dylan were great. Luke rode the last climb on the front the whole way and both of them swapped off at the end - they’re both in great form. It’s a great team to have around us.

"I’ll go all out tomorrow - and see where that puts me. It would be great to win the stage but (Wout) Van Aert is my favourite."
Stage 12 result

1. Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) 4:57:53
2. Pello Bilbao (Astana) s.t.
3. Gregor Mühlberger (Bora-Hansgrohe)
4. Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal) +1:28”
5. Fabio Felline (Trek-Segafredo) s.t.
27. Egan Bernal (Team INEOS) +9:35"
28. Geraint Thomas (Team INEOS) s.t.

Overall standings:

1. Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) 52:26:09
2. Geraint Thomas (Team INEOS) +1:12"
3. Egan Bernal (Team INEOS) +1:16"

4. Steven Kruijswijk (Jumbo-Visma) +1:27"
5. Emmanuel Buchmann (Bora-Hansgrohe) +1:45"

Share this article