Team Sky came home sixth at Hammer Sportzone Limburg following an exciting four-way battle for position in the Hammer Chase.

The quintet of Jon Dibben, Owain Doull, Chris Lawless, Diego Rosa and Pavel Sivakov were able to jump up one place from their original start spot of seventh and crossed the line as part of a multi-team photo finish.

The team clocked the third fastest time out of 16 squads on the day, yet points accrued in the opening two days ensured the fight for an overall podium was almost impossible with a 2:27 deficit at the start.

Team Sky quickly overhauled Lotto Soudal out on course and also caught and passed Bora-Hansgrohe. BMC Racing were also making up places behind, causing major congestion as teams battled for position out on course. The gaps closed up again in the final kilometres, with a bike throw at the line from Lawless enough to hold off a regrouped Bora challenge.
The team finished 2:19 back, level on time with BMC who were also involved in the battle on the finish straight. 
Up ahead Quick-Step Floors set off first and were never headed, taking victory by 36 seconds over Mitchelton-Scott.
Final standings:

1. Quick-Step Floors 40:37"
2. Mitchelton-Scott +36"
3. LottoNL-Jumbo +58"
4. Bahrain Merida +1:07"
5. BMC Racing +2:19"
6. Team Sky s.t.

Share this article