Giro d’Italia – Stage two: Bologna – Fucecchio, 205km

Team INEOS’ riders came through a tricky second stage at the Giro d’Italia without issue as Tao Geoghegan Hart remained seventh overall.
After a soaking wet start in Bologna the weather improved, with the team fully ensconced in the peloton on a day where the objective was to stay safe and without time loss.
A sprint finish was expected and the team, marshalled by Salvatore Puccio, moved into position late on to ensure there were no issues. The eventual bunch sprint was claimed by Pascal Ackermann (Bora-Hansgrohe), with the German timing his kick perfectly in Fucecchio.
Geoghegan Hart remains 35 seconds back on leader Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) and second in the young rider competition. Pavel Sivakov moved up two places to 26th overall. Jhonatan Narvaez, Eddie Dunbar and Puccio all finished in the bunch to retain their GC positions.

Nicolas Portal

The goal was to try and keep our GC position, be in control and don't expend energy for no reason.

- Nicolas Portal, Sport Director

"It was the first road stage and it's never easy, especially in a Grand Tour, to get everyone riding together. They are used to it, but in a Grand Tour you have 180 riders with a big bunch, where the tension is higher.

"The goal was to try and keep our GC position, be in control and don't expend energy for no reason. At the same time we wanted to use the stage to start to work well together and create a good dynamic within the team. The boys did well. We've got more climbers in our group, and some with more experience - so for Salva and Christian it's a big job. Tomorrow we will go again and the experience will grow."
What's Next?

The sprinters get another shot on stage three, with a flatter run-in and the best part of 40km to go after the final climb of the day.

Stage two result:

1. Pascal Ackermann (Bora-Hansgrohe) 4:44:43
2. Elia Viviani (Deceunick-Quick-Step) s.t.
3. Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal)
4. Fernando Gaviria (UAE-Team Emirates)
5. Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ)
34. Pavel Sivakov (Team INEOS)
35. Tao Geoghegan Hart (Team INEOS)

Overall standings:

1. Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) 4:57:42
2. Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) +19"
3. Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain Merida) +23"
4. Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana) +28"
5. Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) s.t.
7. Tao Geoghegan Hart (Team INEOS) +35"
26. Pavel Sivakov (Team INEOS) +1:01"

Share this article