Poels climbs up to fourth in Poland

03 Aug 2017

Poels climbs up to fourth in Poland

Related riders

Share this article

A rousing finish to a brutal sixth stage saw Wout Poels elevate himself up the general classification at the Tour of Poland.

The Dutchman won the sprint to lead home the top GC contenders in Zakopane, securing six key bonus seconds as an elite group came in behind the day’s solo victor.
That effort was enough to bump Poels up into fourth place overall, 13 seconds off the yellow jersey ahead of the race’s tough and decisive final stage.
After enjoying great support from his team-mates, Poels dug deep across a relentless parcours as the peloton blew apart. He then put in a pair of attacks to make the race even harder over the final categorised climb of Butorowy Wierch.
Up ahead there was no catching Jack Haig (Orica-Scott), as the young Australian powered clear over the final pair of climbs, taking his first pro victory by 51 seconds.
Poels showed impressive strength to launch an early sprint and hold off Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors) and the pack behind. That group contained Dylan Teuns (BMC Racing), with the stage two victor moving into the race lead by a slender six second margin.
A pony made things interesting as it joined the peloton on stage six

A pony made things interesting as it joined the peloton on stage six

The first of two tough climbing tests to round out the race, the 189-kilometre stage featured a sting in the tail with a tough loop around Zakopane, featuring no less than five categorised climbs.
With three riders up the road, Bora-Hansgrohe took up the bulk of the pace-setting behind, setting a tempo and keeping the move in check
With 30km to go and the climbs mounting up the strain became too much for overnight leader Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe), who sat up to relinquish the yellow jersey.

Stage six result:

1. Jack Haig (Orica-Scott) 4:58:55
2. Wout Poels (Team Sky) +51"
3. Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors) s.t.
4. Rui Costa (UAE-Fly Emirates)
5. Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb)

Overall standings:

1. Dylan Teuns (BMC Racing) 23:41:27
2. Rafal Majka (Bora-Hansgrohe) +6"
3. Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb) +10"
4. Wout Poels (Team Sky) +13"
5. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ag2r-La Mondiale) +18"

Share this article