Pair secure strong finishes at Tour of Britain

14 Sep 2019

Pair secure strong finishes at Tour of Britain

Related riders

Share this article

Tour of Britain – Stage eight: Altrincham – Manchester, 166km

Team INEOS put on an attacking show on the final day of the Tour of Britain, with Pavel Sivakov and Gianni Moscon securing fourth and sixth places overall.
The final day was clipped off at a rapid pace on the roads around Manchester, with INEOS riders constantly looking to enliven the race. The team split the bunch on exposed roads at the day’s halfway point, before Sivakov kicked off a series of accelerations in a bid to go clear of the pack on the Ramsbottom Rake KOM.
Dylan van Baarle, Moscon, Michal Golas and finally Eddie Dunbar all launched moves off the front, but with the course not quite proving selective enough, it all came back together for a bunch finish in the city centre.
Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon-Circus) capped off an impressive week by winning the final sprint and clinching overall victory over Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott). Sivakov won the combativity award on the final day and finished 52 seconds behind the green jersey.
A consistent week of racing saw the team also lift the team classification prize, while a number of breakaway efforts saw Van Baarle lift the overall Wahooligan Combativity Award.


- Dylan van Baarle

"We've tried to make the race really hard wherever we could. Maybe the course wasn’t totally in our favour, but even then we tried to push as hard as possible.

"Today there were a lot of people along the road supporting the race. It was really nice to see. We got cheered a lot of times and it’s nice that the fans recognise us.

"After BinckBank Tour I took it quite easy and did a lot of training on the TT bike ahead of TT worlds. I’m pretty happy with the form and I’m looking forward to the worlds. 
"The long breaks here are good for the time trial training, but having some racing in the legs will always help for the road race."
Final standings:

1. Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon-Circus) 29:47:41
2. Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott) +17"
3. Jasper De Buyst (Lotto Soudal) +50"
4. Pavel Sivakov (Team INEOS) +52"
5. Nils Politt (Katusha-Alpecin) +1:01"
6. Gianni Moscon (Team INEOS) s.t.

Share this article