No movement ahead of Willunga test

25 Jan 2020

No movement ahead of Willunga test

Related riders

Share this article

Tour Down Under - Stage five: Glenelg - Victor Harbor, 149.1km

Rohan Dennis and Dylan van Baarle maintained their top 10 positions overall after an eventful fifth stage of the Tour Down Under won by Giacomo Nizzolo (NTT Pro Cycling).

Dennis, Van Baarle and Pavel Sivakov were all part of attacking moves which were covered by Mitchelton-Scott throughout the day as the Australian team were able to move Daryl Impey into the race lead at the expense of Richie Porte (Trek-Segafredo).

Earlier, Ian Stannard was part of a dangerous breakaway that aimed to ruin the sprinters’ fun as he was joined by Mads Pedersen (Trek Segafredo), Josef Cerny (CCC) and Ide Schelling (Bora-Hansgrohe) that led for a large portion of the stage, only to be caught on Kerby Hill.  

It was on this final climb where when pressure from the GC riders caused a split in the peloton and saw Dennis, Van Baarle and Sivakov go clear in an elite group of favourites who were only caught in the final kilometres. 

This allowed the sprinters’ teams to come to the fore and contest the stage in Victor Harbor, which was won by Nizzolo. 

Sivakov remains in the white jersey, while Impey moves into the race lead after claiming important bonus seconds during the stage .

The race will be deiced on the final stage, which features the climatic Willunga Hill climb, with a host of GC riders in contention.  


Pavel Sivakov

“There was one move with 20km remaining where Mitchelton-Scott going full gas and it reduced the front group to around 15 guys. 

“Myself, Dylan and Rohan joined the favourites in this front group and although we went clear, it wasn’t really organised so we were caught before the finish which led to a hectic final in Victor Harbor. 

“We have two guys in the top 10 and I’m not too far back, so we’ll go all out tomorrow and try something on Willunga Hill - it’s the last stage and there’s nothing to lose.”

Overall standings

1. Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott) 17:12:15
2. Richie Porte (Trek-Segafredo) +2"
3. Robert Power (Team Sunweb) +9"
4. Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) +13"
5. George Bennett (Team Jumbo-Visma) +16"
8. Rohan Dennis (Team INEOS) +17"
9. Dylan van Baarle (Team INEOS) +17"

Share this article