Moscon second as Landa retains Burgos lead

04 Aug 2017

Moscon second as Landa retains Burgos lead

Related riders

Share this article

Gianni Moscon was denied victory on stage four of the Vuelta a Burgos as Mikel Landa retained his overall lead in the race.

Moscon attacked the line in the closing metres of the 147km stage only to be caught by Julien Alaphillipe (Quick-Step Floors) and eventual winner Carlos Barbero (Movistar).

The Italian was overtaken by both riders, but was able to edge Alaphillipe on the line to take second.

The result cements Moscon’s hopes of a top 10 finish ahead of Saturday’s tough final stage which ends with a decisive climb that will play a pivotal role in shaping the overall classification.  

At the top of GC, Landa remains 27 seconds ahead of nearest challenger David De La Cruz with Enric Mas (both Quick-Step Floors) 46 seconds down.
Mikel Landa's signature was in demand ahead of stage four

Mikel Landa's signature was in demand ahead of stage four

Earlier on stage four, a breakaway threatened to take the spoils, with Ben King (Dimension Data), Antoine Duchesne (Direct Energie), Etienne van Empel (Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij), and Marcos Jurado (Burgos-BH) leading for the majority of the stage.
However, with 40km to go the peloton began to work together and slowly reel in the break with Team Sky leading on the front.

Inside 13km the peloton was reunited with the escapees and the pace picked up with several team jostling for position ahead of the final sharp climb into Ciudad Romana de Clunia.

Good work from Tao Geoghegan Hart then positioned Moscon well to attack in the closing 500m, only for him to be denied by Barbero.  
Overall standings 
1. Mikel Landa (Team Sky) 15:00:51
2. David de la Cruz (Quick-Step Floors) +27"
3. Enric Mas (Quick-Step Floors) +46"
4. Jaime Rosón (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA) +54"
5. Miguel Ángel López (Astana) +1'02"
8. Gianni Moscon (Team Sky) +1'34

Share this article