Moscon second as Elissonde moves up

17 Jun 2017

Moscon second as Elissonde moves up

Related riders

Share this article

Gianni Moscon finished second on a brutal day of climbing on the queen stage of Route du Sud as Kenny Elissonde improved his position in the overall standings.

Moscon was part of a long range breakaway group that escaped  early in the stage, though this was whittled down to eventual stage winner Pierre Rolland (Cannondale-Drapac) and the Italian as the leaders reached the Col du Tourmalet.

Silvan Dillier (BMC Racing) was able to stay close to the duo which led Team Sky to lead the chasing group as the Swiss rider’s position threatened Elissonde’s overall classification hopes.

Wout Poels, Geraint Thomas and finally Sergio Henao all worked hard on the front of the elite chasing pack and were able to bring the leaders closer as the race entered the final stages.

However, Rolland attacked with four kilometres to go and Moscon was unable to bridge the gap, finishing second, while Dillier was able to come in fifth and take the overall lead by one second. 

Elissonde finished 10th, with Sergio Henao ninth, and moves up to third overall heading into the final day’s action. 
Stage three result: 
1.  Pierre Rolland (Cannondale Drapac) 4:56:06 
2.  Gianni Moscon (Team Sky)  +42"
3.  Richard Carapaz (Movistar) s.t.
4.  Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale Drapac) s.t. 
5.  Silvan Dillier (BMC Racing) +55"

General classification:
1. Silvan DILLIER ( BMC Racing Team ) 13:44:06
2. Richard Carapaz (Movistar) +1 " 
3. Kenny Elissonde ( Team Sky) +1'38" 
4. Brice Feilliu (Fortuneo- vital Concept) +2'34 " 
5. David Arroyo (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA) +4'01"
Kenny Elissonde has moved up to third overall

Kenny Elissonde has moved up to third overall

Tour de Suisse

Salvatore Puccio sprinted to a top 10 finish on stage eight of the Tour de Suisse as Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) sealed his second win of the race.

Sagan comfortably won the sprint after several late attacks failed to split the divided peloton, with Puccio finishing 10th  

The short 100km stage looked as though it may end with a successful break as Jaco Venter (Team Dimension Data), Jelle Wallays (Lotto Soudal), Lasse Norman Hansen (Aqua Blue Sport) and Nick Van der Lijke (Team Roompot) managed to get away for the majority of the stage.

But with a large number of sprinters' teams not having a presence at the front of the race, the group were eventually reeled in with just over 10km remaining, leading to a sprint finish.

Danny van Poppel was unfortunately unable to take the start line. 

Share this article