Moscon's ride goes unrewarded at Beghelli

06 Oct 2019

Moscon's ride goes unrewarded at Beghelli

Related riders

Share this article

Gianni Moscon’s attacking ride at GP Beghelli went unrewarded after the Italian was caught inside the final 10 kilometres.

Moscon - who finished fourth in the world championship road race last Sunday - went on the attack 30km from the finish on the tough finishing circuit around Monteveglio and was joined by teammate Ivan Sosa in a group of seven.

This eventually slimmed down to four and Moscon kept pushing on, but it was to no avail. Having been caught late on, a small group then went clear again and Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain Merida) took the win from the final selection.

Sport Director Matteo Tosatto praised Moscon’s ride and provided an update on the group ahead of a crucial week in the run up to next Saturday’s Il Lombardia.

He said: “Yesterday was a very hard race and the guys did well. Leonardo did well to control in the first part of the race and then on the circuits Diego was very strong. He set a good tempo the first time up San Luca. Egan had good feelings after his break - it’s two weeks since he last raced, at Memorial Pantani. Today Egan stopped with two laps to go as he was a little tired after yesterday, but everything is under control.

"Gianni is possibly a little bit tired after the world championships, but he was really strong today. He attacked with 30km to the finish and the group caught him with 9km to go. But in general he went well and was moving well.

“The guys are all going well and these two long races are perfect preparation for a big week and Il Lombardia next Saturday.”

Next up for the team is Tre Valli Varesine on Tuesday, where Ben Swift will lead the line.

Lineup: Leonardo Basso, Eddie Dunbar, Tao Geoghegan Hart, Michal Golas, Gianni Moscon, Salvatore Puccio, Ben Swift.
GP Beghelli result

1. Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain Merida) 4:35:59
2. Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) s.t.
3. Jack Haig (Mitchelton-Scott) 
4. David Gaudu (Groupama-FDJ)
5. Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)
35. Leonardo Basso (Team INEOS) +0:07"
42. Tao Geoghegan Hart (Team INEOS) s.t.
45. Diego Rosa (Team INEOS)
65. Ivan Sosa (Team INEOS) +0:15"
70. Gianni Moscon (Team INEOS) +0:20"

Share this article