Lawless retains second in Wallonie

29 Jul 2019

Lawless retains second in Wallonie

Related riders

Share this article

Tour de Wallonie - Stage three: La Roche-en-Ardenne › Verviers, 204.2km

Chris Lawless battled hard to hold on to second place overall at the Tour de Wallonie following an undulating third stage.

The Brit regained contact with the peloton on the descent ahead of the finish in Verviers, and despite not contesting the sprint, he claimed the same time as stage victor Davide Cimolai (Israel Cycling Academy).

That ensured Lawless remained just 12 seconds off leader Loic Vliegen (Wanty-Gobert), while also holding on to the young rider jersey.

Eddie Dunbar and Diego Rosa put in strong performances to also finish in the peloton, with both riders sitting just 22 seconds off the lead ahead of a tough penultimate stage on Tuesday.

The day did not go as well for David de la Cruz who sadly crashed out of the race.


- Brett Lancaster

“It’s really aggressive racing here with a lot of Pro Conti and Continental teams. It was on all day. We had the breakaway come back around halfway through the stage and then they started attacking again. So it was a tough, grippy day. 

“Chris didn’t feel excellent at the end but he still just managed to get over the penultimate climb, and somehow on the descent got back. In the sprint he just didn’t have the legs but he was able to hold on to second place. That’s really good.

“Eddie and Rosa were really strong and represented the team in many moves. The rest of the team were fantastic and mucked in. Unfortunately De La Cruz crashed out and took quite a bit of skin off. It was more of a precaution to take him out of the race, but he’s on his way to the airport and he’ll go back and get some scans done possibly in the coming days. 

“We’ll see what we can do tomorrow. It’s a really hard day. We’ve got a few options. We’ll try and play our cards right and see if we can pull something off.”
Stage three result:

1. Davide Cimolai (Israel Cycling Academy) 4:40:43
2. Amaury Capiot (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise) s.t.
3. Bryan Coquard (Vital Concept-B&B Hotels)
4. Lionel Taminiaux (Wallonie-Bruxelles)
5. Tosh Van Der Sande (Lotto Soudal)
28. Eddie Dunbar (Team INEOS)
29. Diego Rosa (Team INEOS)
44. Chris Lawless (Team INEOS)

Overall standings:

1. Loic Vliegen (Wanty-Gobert) 13:07:54
2. Chris Lawless (Team INEOS) +12"
3. Dries De Bondt (Corendon Circus) +13"
4. Quinten Hermans (Telenet Fidea Lions) +18"
5. Kenneth De Rooy (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise) s.t.

Share this article