Emotional Thomas set for Tour de France victory

28 Jul 2018

Emotional Thomas set for Tour de France victory

Related riders

Share this article

Geraint Thomas put in a resounding final time trial to all but secure an incredible Tour de France victory.

The Welshman set the third quickest time on the final day of general classification racing and will arrive in Paris on Sunday with the yellow jersey on his shoulders.
Overcome with emotion at the finish in Espelette, Thomas will now take a margin of one minute and 51 seconds into the French capital on Sunday, en route to a maiden Grand Tour victory.
With Team Sky now set to claim a sixth Tour de France victory and fourth Grand Tour victory in succession, a special day was compounded by Chris Froome, who powered back onto the overall podium.
The four-time Tour winner will stand next to his friend and teammate Thomas in Paris after securing third place overall, overturning a 13-second overnight deficit with a commanding ride in the 31-kilometre TT. Froome also came within a whisker of winning the stage, but was narrowly edged out by Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) by a single second.

Michal Kwiatkowski spent much of the stage on the hot seat after a strong early ride. The Pole held on for fourth quickest time, 50 seconds back on Dumoulin.
Geraint Thomas

Geraint Thomas

I’ve won the Tour man!
After crossing the line Thomas struggled to put into words what he had achieved. He admitted: “I don’t know what to say, it’s just overwhelming.”
“I didn’t think about it at all but… I’ve won the Tour man!”
“I felt good, I felt strong, I felt really good actually and I was pushing a bit hard on the corners and [Sport Director] Nico Portal told me to relax, take it easy and just make sure I win the Tour. And that’s what I did – it’s overwhelming.

“I thought I could beat the guys here, but to do it on the biggest stage of all, over three weeks. That’s insane.
“Last time I cried was when I got married, I don’t know what’s happened to me.”

Stage 20 result:

1. Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) 40:52
2. Chris Froome (Team Sky) +1"
3. Geraint Thomas (Team Sky) +14"
4. Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky) +50"

5. Soren Kragh Andersen (Team Sunweb) +51"

Overall standings:

1. Geraint Thomas (Team Sky) 80:30:37
2. Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) +1:51"
3. Chris Froome (Team Sky) +2:24"
4. Primoz Roglic (LottoNL-Jumbo) +3:22"
5. Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNL-Jumbo) +6:08"

Share this article